Solent TV – Director Audition

I have just got back from a directors audition with Solent TV to co-direct their summer 2015 four-part drama series. It was a little nerve-racking as it was to work with two actors that I have never met. I had got through to the second round of the selection process and been given a short script, with little description, to which I could adapt in any way I wanted. My idea was to portray a Grimm style fairytale and transform the two actors, one from a princess type character into a witch and the other from a “chav” character into a frog. Not having met the actors before and not auditioning for a director role before a million and one things were running through my head. In the end it was all ok. The actors were great, I had visions of them not been happy with the idea I had come up with and having to talk them around; but they were fantastic. They both seemed really interested in my idea and, as I had hoped, found the transformations quite funny and not embarrassing. I think my nerves came in a little, you know what it’s like, when you leave and think – if only I had done this or if only I had said that!!  At the end of the day I gave it my best shot and all I can do is keep my fingers crossed until I hear back from them with their decision. As with all jobs, there are lots of people applying for the post but I should know either way by next Friday 27.02.15 (wish me luck)

Leave a comment